Kangaroo Carry Air Marshall III - opinions/reviews? - MP-Pistol Forum

Kangaroo Carry Air Marshall III - opinions/reviews?

This is a discussion on Kangaroo Carry Air Marshall III - opinions/reviews? within the MP Pistol Accessories forums, part of the Smith & Wesson MP Forum category; Anyone have any Kangaroo Carry products they have an opinion on? Looking at the Air Marshal III for myself and if anyone is carrying an ...


Go Back   MP-Pistol Forum > Smith & Wesson MP Forum > MP Pistol Accessories

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 7th, 2016, 11:27 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 65
Kangaroo Carry Air Marshall III - opinions/reviews?

Anyone have any Kangaroo Carry products they have an opinion on? Looking at the Air Marshal III for myself and if anyone is carrying an M&P, how comfortable is this. Kind of sick of IWB already. Started my holster drawer...

I was looking for a shoulder holster to go under a suit jacket for special occasions, but I'm liking what I see from Kangaroo, but real world experience is always best.

Thanks in advance.
thor363 is offline  
Old August 7th, 2016, 11:44 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 634
Interesting, But you'd be wearing it under a shirt, correct? The copy I read said that it gives unrestricted access. I don't understand how wearing it under a shirt gives unrestricted access. But for hot weather, (more of the copy I read) it might be just thing.

I far prefer OTB carry anymore. In the winter I would use a shoulder holster, but now I just use a Maxpedition Fatboy and I know that I don't need to be at all concerned if the day starts cold and turns hot, stays at -20 all day or is 100F all day. No matter how I dress OTB carry in the Fatboy works. It's out of place with semi-formal or formal wear. For that I switch to a smaller gun and OTW, or a larger gun in a shoulder holster. I don't have a shoulder holster for the 9c yet.
BrianK is offline  
Old August 7th, 2016, 12:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 65
Agreed. I'd prefer OWB but this hot weather here is horrid. The Air Marshall III could be used for a couple of my pistols so I had some hope it would be a comfortable solution. No point if it's not comfortable and doesn't help keep from printing. IWB is so annoying other than in the small of the back or appendix. It'll do in a pinch if needed.
thor363 is offline  
 
Old August 7th, 2016, 01:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Washington State - +-94mi east of the Cascade Curtain
Posts: 698
About the only way I could see being able to draw your pistol with any speed at all would be having to wear a button down shirt with the buttons re-sewn over the button holes then velcro applied to keep the shirt closed. If you're wearing a Tee shirt or Polo shirt you're going to have to pull it up so high in order to draw the pistol. And I'd think it would be really hot with that big wide band wrapped around your body.

You don't describe your typical everyday wardrobe, but I wear pocket tee's or polo shirts and I can carry IWB or OWB very easily.

For IWB (my preferred carry method) I have a Safariland/Bianchi Model 135 that is in my opinion a very comfortable holster. It has the padded mesh backing against your skin so you don't sweat as much. On a rare occasion I wear a tucked in shirt and this holster works great for that too.

For OWB I have a Gould & Goodrich Model B809-MPS. It rides high on the belt with very little protruding below the belt. Easy to conceal under a Tee shirt or a Polo shirt. A tall size shirt might be helpful in preventing inadvertent holster/pistol exposure when lifting your arm.

Good luck on your quest!
NCW Ray is offline  
Old August 7th, 2016, 02:00 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 252
I've been carrying my P07 in one for several months.

I wear a t-shirt against my body, wear the AM 3 on top of that, then a button up short sleeve shirt over it all.

I sweat like a pig anyway. Does the AM 3 make me sweat more? Probably, but how much can a 4" wide strip of cotton over a t-shirt increase the amount of sweat? I don't know.

I wash the holster/strap now and then.

I leave the top couple of buttons unbuttoned so I can pull the shirt open/to the left while reaching in to grab the P07 with my right hand. It's not a quick draw rig, not a competition rig, it's a rig designed to allow me to carry kick as pistol, loaded, into places where I don't want people to know I'm carrying.

Unless I'm going to the courthouse for something, that P07 is in the AM 3 under my shirt.

This winter I'll go back to the IWB kydex/leather rig on my right side where the hood/jacket will cover it up.

Oh, a picture of my P07 when I came back from a range trip Friday afternoon. The P07 gets pretty sweaty. On these kinds of days, I let it dry, field strip it, wipe it down with an oily rag and reassemble it and load it up so it's ready for the next day.

M1A4ME is offline  
Old August 14th, 2016, 06:09 AM   #6
Member
 
MarineScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 91
I absolutely love mine! I wear a moisture wicking heat shirt from Under Armour when using the holster. I forget I have a firearm on me. I carry a S&W M&PFS 9mm. Days I don't feel like wearing it I have an Alien Gear OWB holster I wear. Kangaroo Carry customer service is great too. I have had them answer my questions, when purchasing, on a Sunday.

Last edited by MarineScott; August 14th, 2016 at 08:09 AM.
MarineScott is offline  
Old August 18th, 2016, 06:02 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 65
I agree this thing is so comfy, I even got one for my wife for when she wants to go jogging. Thanks for all the replies. Definitely follow the measuring instructions though! ...and yes customer service is awesome. Penny just emailed me back after hours and though I knew I was supposed to order my wife a small size Micro II for her pistol, I mistakenly ordered a size medium. No problem with return though it was my fault. Good thing wifey didn't think that I thought she was phat lol. I just clicked medium by mistake (really).
thor363 is offline  
Reply

  MP-Pistol Forum > Smith & Wesson MP Forum > MP Pistol Accessories


Search tags for this page

kangaroo carry holster review

,

kangaroo carry holsters reviewed

,

kangaroo carry review

Click on a term to search for related topics.

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I Get a Concealed Carry Permit Online? BigfootGunBelts Bigfoot Gun Belts 0 August 1st, 2016 11:32 AM
How to Conceal Carry A Revolver BigfootGunBelts Bigfoot Gun Belts 0 July 15th, 2016 02:11 PM



Powered by vBulletin 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © 2006-2012 MP-Pistol. All rights reserved.
MP-Pistol is a M&P pistol enthusiast forum, but it is in no way affiliated with, nor does it represent Smith & Wesson Holding Corp. of Springfield, MA.