Dillon Super Swage 600 Review

This is a discussion on Dillon Super Swage 600 Review within the MP Reloading forums, part of the Smith & Wesson MP Forum category; Any of you high volume reloaders use one of these? I bought one and feel like kicking my own butt for not buying one years ...


Go Back   MP-Pistol Forum > Smith & Wesson MP Forum > MP Reloading

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 26th, 2012, 05:20 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
jbylake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. KY
Posts: 1,249
Any of you high volume reloaders use one of these? I bought one and feel like kicking my own butt for not buying one years ago. Removes crimp from military brass. Went through about 500 rounds in an hour, while watching TV. There's a guy on youtube that does approx. 1100 rounds of 5.56 in an hour, but I'm not that dexterious, and was watching TV while doing it. The swage comes with tooling for .223/5.56, .30 cal. and 9mm - .45ACP, although I haven't tried it on pistol brass yet, but it's very simple to set up, and I only trashed a couple of pieces, dialing it in. Just thought I'd share for other's who might do a LOT of brass at once. And beats the heck out of doing it with a reamer of some sort or other hand held tool. Can see it here: http://www.dillonpre...Super_Swage_600 or look it up on youtube to get a look at how simple it is to use. Just thought I'd share with those of you who haven't used one. For me, it's a godsend. Also have 3k more rounds coming next week. Heck, I feel like it paid for itself already, in time and frustration.

J.
jbylake is offline  
Old February 26th, 2012, 07:39 PM   #2
G56
Site Staff
 
G56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 7,182
After reading rave reviews on several different reloading message boards, I finally broke down and bought one. They had sounded good, but as anyone who has looked at one can see, they ain't cheap! I had been using a RCBS swager for 35+ years and hated it, it was terribly slow and quite frankly did a really poor job.



After using it for the first time, I was extremely disappointed in myself for waiting that long! Its fast and pretty effective, sometimes it didn't get all of the crimp out and it needed to be redone, I did find that rotating the brass in the shell holder would usually help a lot. I recently tried something after thinking about it for a while, when you look at a crimped primer, quite often the crimp is off center from the primer, one side of the primer pocket has more crimp than the other side, so I changed my technique slightly, I do the first decrimp action, then I rotate the case about half a turn and bump it again, not necessarily a full throw, just an additional bump with the case in a different position, it made a tremendous difference, I rarely encounter a problem with seating a primer, and as long as its a light touch I don't have to worry about overdoing it.



As you get used to the Dillon, you quit adjusting the rod for different brass, you can tell by feel how much pressure to use, and that speeds things up quite a bit.
G56 is offline  
Old February 26th, 2012, 07:42 PM   #3
G56
Site Staff
 
G56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 7,182
After experiencing all the convenience items in reloading, the next step is to get the Giraud trimmer for rifle brass, its expensive but it rocks!!!!!!



http://www.giraudtool.com/



Usually reloading 223 requires you to check case length each time you process it for reloading, I don't do that anymore, it takes less time to run each piece of brass through the Giraud than it does to measure it!



[media]http://www.youtube.com/embed/JXmqP_quWYg

[/media]
G56 is offline  
Old February 27th, 2012, 05:43 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
jbylake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. KY
Posts: 1,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by G56 View Post
After experiencing all the convenience items in reloading, the next step is to get the Giraud trimmer for rifle brass, its expensive but it rocks!!!!!!



http://www.giraudtool.com/



Usually reloading 223 requires you to check case length each time you process it for reloading, I don't do that anymore, it takes less time to run each piece of brass through the Giraud than it does to measure it!



[media]http://www.youtube.com/embed/JXmqP_quWYg

[/media]


G56,



That's slicker than weasle snot!!!! but at $425 it's a bit expensive, plus another $30.00 for tooling for each additional caliber.....but, after looking at it, I think I could build one myself for approx $100. Additional calibers would only require cutting a full length sizing die in half in a lathe, and using the locking ring for adustment. You could use an inexpensive sander from somewhere like Harbor Freight and mount a bracket to hold your tooling, adjust for lenght and away you go. Or, a motor driving an arbor with a grinding wheel attached, using the side of the wheel, since it's soft brass, wouldn't be unsafe, but mount a piece of plexi for a shield. I might try to replicate one of those, when I have the time and inclination to try it. Never thought of it, myself, but I'm always a day late and a dolllar short for anything...



J.
jbylake is offline  
Old February 27th, 2012, 11:01 AM   #5
G56
Site Staff
 
G56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 7,182
The next fastest way to trim is using the Possum Hollow trimmer mounted up to a drill, their trimmer is limited to one caliber, but its the closest combination of cheaper/faster you will find, in addition the power adapter also fits a standard chamfer debur tool making those steps much faster.



https://www.possumhollowproducts.com..._TRIMMERS.html



The Giraud combines all three so the 1-2 seconds per case takes care of all operations, trim, chamfer and debur, all at the same time.



I have my Giraud set up for 223, I will be adding a die set up for 300 AAC Blackout, those are the only rifle calibers I load in quantity, all other rifle calibers are done on my old Lyman trimmer, now with an added power adapter.
G56 is offline  
Old February 27th, 2012, 11:05 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
jbylake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N. KY
Posts: 1,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by G56 View Post
As you get used to the Dillon, you quit adjusting the rod for different brass, you can tell by feel how much pressure to use, and that speeds things up quite a bit.
Same here G, but after about a hundred rounds of 5.56 I got it down pat. I didn't experience the non-concentric, offset crimp problem you described (I inspected each piece 100%) but at least I know what to do now, in case it does, without a bunch of trial and error. Haven't been this entusiastic about reloading mil/Leo surplus ammo for, well since a long time. On the base, the range master would let us pick up all the brass we wanted.

But I retired in '95, so I've had to pay for mine just like a regular taxpayer, ever since. LOL.



J.
jbylake is offline  
Reply

  MP-Pistol Forum > Smith & Wesson MP Forum > MP Reloading


Search tags for this page
dillion swaging tool reviews
,
dillon 600 super swage
,
dillon 600 super swage reviews
,

dillon super swage 600

,

dillon super swage 600 review

,
dillon super swage 600 reviews
,
dillon super swage 600 setup
,
dillon super swager reviews
,
dillon swage 600 for sale
,
dillon swage 600 reviews
,
how to set up dillon ss-600super swager for 9mm pistol
,

super swage 600 review

Click on a term to search for related topics.

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dillon lane9 MP Reloading 4 March 15th, 2011 09:04 AM
Benelli Super Vinci Review and Range Test KyGunCo.com Rifles 0 February 8th, 2011 06:17 AM
Dillon SDB or 650? f-bomb MP Talk 15 December 26th, 2007 04:44 AM



Powered by vBulletin 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
Copyright © 2006-2012 MP-Pistol. All rights reserved.
MP-Pistol is a M&P pistol enthusiast forum, but it is in no way affiliated with, nor does it represent Smith & Wesson Holding Corp. of Springfield, MA.